The Flora City Council is a commission form of government, comprised of a mayor and four commissioners.  The registered voters who reside within the city limits elect them to office every four years.

Each of the commissioners is responsible for various city operations and all cast an equal vote on all city legislation, including the mayor, who presides over council meetings.  Council meetings are held the first and third Monday of each month at 4:30 p.m. in the Council Chamber Room located in the lobby of City Hall.  All meetings are open to the public.

The City Administrator/Economic Development Director, City Attorney, City Clerk, City Treasurer, Deputy Clerk, Deputy Treasurer, Chief of Police, and Assistant Chief of Police are appointed positions, made by the mayor and ratified by the City Council.  These individuals, along with the Director of Public Works & Building/Zoning Official and the Superintendent of Public Services manage the day-to-day business for the city.